Work flow suggestion for STL -> Geometry x3 -> merged but partitioned mesh -> Abaqus

I am new to Cubit and am hoping someone could suggest a workflow. I have .stl files of 3 parts (a growth plate sandwiched between 2 bones) that have complex geometry where the surface interfaces are matched (like an imprint). I would like to create volume geometries with the .stl files, mesh the volume geometries such that they are a single merged part, but partitioned such that I can assign material properties to each section independently, then export the meshed part to Abaqus where I can assign loads to each section independently. I would be grateful for any suggestions. Here is my current workflow up to this point…

import .stl files
Setup FEA Model under ITEM tab
Tetrahedral elements slider set to the middle
Magic mesh button

I don’t know if this creates a meshed volume geometry that I am looking to create, but when I clip it, it shows elements through the geometry (Cubit>draw tet all)

Cheers!

RP

Welcome @rperronejr!

Your workflow looks pretty good. If you want the three volumes to be joined via a conforming mesh, you’ll want to merge the imprinted surfaces, as you mention. After merging you can still have three separate regions (for material assignment) via block assignment. Here’s some pseudocode that expands a bit on your workflow:

1. import stl files
2. block 1 vol 1, block 2 vol 2, block 3 vol 3  ## Sets regions for material assignment
3. imprint all, merge all  ## Get a conforming mesh [OPTIONAL]
4. volume all scheme tetmesh, volume <id> size <size> ## Set the mesh scheme
5. mesh volume all ## Mesh the volumes

If you instead want non-conforming interfaces between the volumes, but want to apply a contact interaction between them, you can create sidesets for each of the interacting surfaces.

1 Like