How can I mesh for CFD of turbulent jet

Hello Cubit users,

I am new, just created an account. I am also new to Cubit, so please keep it simple.

I have a specific problem for a relatively simple configuration. I want to simulate a turbulent jet (round or plane) – that is a flow entering via a small inlet pipe (diameter D) into a large domain (typical diameter 50D, length 100D – this domain could be conical or a box, so long as the side wall are far from the jet centerline) of the same fluid and density. I am currently using the nek5000 example NekExamples/turbJet/turbJet at master · Nek5000/NekExamples · GitHub. In README.md they say “The mesh was generated in Cubit, exported as EXODUSI and storred at ./turbJet/mesh/jet.exo. Finally it was converted to nek format using ext2nek”.

I want to adapt this code, and I would like to generate new meshes via Cubit like they do above. The meshes would look like this one: Unstructured spectral element mesh for large-eddy simulation of a turbulent jet. – Theoretical Fluid Dynamics and Turbulence Group

However, I am unfamiliar with Cubit at the current time, and I would like to ask:
(1) Are there Cubit tutorials for such basic CFD/jet mesh setups – if so, can you direct me a few links?
(2) Are there already example templates/tutorials that I could use?

Is there anyone kind enough to guide me through the initial phases?

Thanks.
Best wishes
Nadeem

Hello @nadeem,
a mesh like the example from above can be easily done with a few lines.

reset
create Cylinder height 20 radius 5 
create Cylinder height 1 radius 0.5
move volume 1 z 10
move volume 2 z -0.5
create surface circle radius 1.5 zplane
create surface circle radius 3.75 zplane
create surface circle radius 2.75 zplane
move Surface 8 9 z 20 include_merged preview 
move Surface 8 9 z 20 include_merged 
create volume loft surface 7 8  
create volume loft surface 6 9 
delete surface all
subtract volume 7 from volume 1 6 keep_tool
subtract volume 6  from volume 1  keep_tool