Exodus sizing function from python netcdf4

Hello,

I am new to Cubit (and Exodus) and I would like to be able to add a mesh sizing function to a Cubit generated exodus file. I was previously using the background mesh strategy in Gmsh, but have decided to move on.

Using the netCDF4 Python module, I am able to convert the file to a format I can use in my simulator. I would now like to add a sizing function back into the original exodus file.

According to this documentation, this needs to be a time-based (element or nodal) variable:
https://coreform.com/cubit_help/mesh_generation/adaptivity_and_sizing_functions/exodus2_field_function.htm

Are there any available examples for doing this? If I do a nodal array, does it just need to be the same dimension as the coordinates of the whole structure? If I do an element array, does it need to be the size of the block, or the total size of all the elements?

Regards,

Juan

This is what I have been able to come up with so far, but I have no insight if this format will be close to correct.
timedata.py (488 Bytes)

Welcome @js34654!

You can find comprehensive Exodus documentation on Sandia’s open-source repository for their SEACAS project, which owns the Exodus format. (SEACAS stands for: "Sandia Engineering Analysis Code Access System)

If you have access to Linux or Mac, you can build the SEACAS project, which will give you access to a few useful utilities utilities to convert Exodus to & from ASCII text (exotxt / txtexo), and to/from Matlab *.mat files ( exo2mat / mat2exo ). There are also extensive APIs for C, Fortran, and Python ( exodus.py ). You may find these tools useful for understanding & creating your Exodus file.

Of course, you could also use the meshio Python module to convert into Exodus from a format that’s more familiar to you.

I’ve attached two files to this email to help get you started with Exodus: