Difficulties with merging multiple volumes

BFLH_version1.cub5 (189.5 KB)

Hi all!

I am relatively new to cubit software and I am looking to build and mesh 3D muscle models with multiple parts ie muscle belly, proximal and distal tendon-aponeuroses.

Whilst I am now familiar with cubit boolean functions (subtract etc) and have successfully meshed a few muscle models - these models tend to have very large number of element (500,000-800,000). I think this is largely due to the complexity of the attachment from tendon to muscle. To ease the computational time for the FEA process I am hoping to reduce this number closer to 50,000 - 100,000.

Ideally I want the distal tendon-aponeurosis to interact directly across the surface of the muscle tissue, whilst the proximal tendon-aponeurosis is partly intra-muscular (like a key in a hole) and partly extra-muscular or surface level to the muscle tissue. You can see this in the file attached.

So my question is: what is the best way to simply align the parts/volumes as tightly as possible to each other to best allow these structures to inter-connect and be meshed as a continuum?

Any support would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Scott

Hi Scott,

Welcome to the forum!

One of the core principles for creating a conforming mesh is the concept of imprint and merge. Imprinting takes the curves from one body and imprints them into the adjacent body. Merging then make surfaces, curves, and vertices that are shared between bodies and makes it so that Cubit only sees one of the entities.

In your problem, if I open the model and issue the commands

open "~/Downloads/BFLH_version1.cub5"
imprint all
merge all
vol all scheme tetmesh
mesh vol all

Cubit returns and indicates that it did the following after the merge:

...Merging all features in the model

...Merging all Surfaces in the model
Consolidated 3 pairs of surfaces
...Merging all Curves in the model
Consolidated 0 curves
...Merging all Vertices in the model