Creating a meandering river in an earth model

Hi everyone,
I am using Coreform Cubit 2022.4 for creating a 3D Earth model. I need to include a meandering channel (river) geometry in the upper part of my model. Can anyone please guide me through the process as I am new to cubit.
All the best,
Haleh

Hi @haleh,

Welcome to the forum! Is your geometry CAD based (ACIS) or is it a facet model? Facet modeling is not well supported in Cubit. If you have a CAD based model, I would probably do something like the following:

1. Create points on the sphere
  2. Create a spline that fits the points
  3. Imprint the spherical surface with the spline.

Here is a set of commands that shows the basic process.

reset
sphere radius 10
create vertex 1.958 4.786 8.54 on surface 1 
create vertex 1.964 5.225 8.3 on surface 1 
create vertex 2.812 4.504 8.449 on surface 1 
create vertex 2.346 3.867 8.927 on surface 1 
create vertex 3.237 3.188 8.914 on surface 1 
create vertex 2.897 1.958 9.37 on surface 1 
create vertex 2.897 1.958 9.37 on surface 1 
create vertex 4 1.576 9.007 on surface 1 
create vertex 4 1.576 9.007 on surface 1 
create vertex 3.406 1.534 9.266 on surface 1 
create vertex 3.916 0.855 9.147 on surface 1 
create curve spline location vertex 11 9 10 6 5 4 3 1 2  
imprint surf 1 with curve 1
draw surf 1

The hard part is probably creating the vertices. Cubit does not currently support creating vertices in a spherical coordinate system. You will likely have to convert from latitude, longitude, radius to x, y, z coordinates. Cubit has python scripting functions and since version 2022.4 ships with numpy.

Let me know if you need more support in using python in Cubit.

Thanks,
Karl

Hi @karl