A BYU student’s experience learning Coreform Cubit

My name is Ben Taylor, and I am currently a student at BYU studying Mechanical Engineering. I was taking ME EN 203, Mechanics of Materials, with Michael Scott when I was first introduced to Coreform Cubit. I ended up doing a little research on the Coreform.com website and downloaded the Free Coreform Cubit Learn. From their, I applied for a job with Coreform and began onboarding recently. Since I have a history in Solidworks, I was interested in this software and figured it would be similar, if not easier to learn. I have decided to post about my experience trying to learn Coreform Cubit and will try to share my confusions, encountered problems, and misconceptions.

After installing the software, I opened it up and played around with it a little bit. A few co-workers told me Coreform had created tutorials to help with learning Coreform Cubit, which I found very useful in starting (I also became the person in charge of updating them coincidentally). You can access these tutorials by going to Coreform.com. From there go to the “support” tab in the top right corner. You will then want to click on “Cubit tutorials”. This should take you to a page with a bunch of videos, pdf files, and downloadable files. I scrolled down to the “Step-by-step tutorials” and started with the first PDF file called, “Getting Started Tutorial”. Going through these tutorials will help you understand what is going on and why different steps need to be taken in order to get a quality mesh.